Conceptual vs. Commission

I am still struggling with this whole idea of the conceptual art vs. art for a commission. So I was talking to a peer of mine and she thought it might be a good idea to do work about the two of them side by side. Still in photographs of the city. This is just a blurb of a thought, because I was talking with Rachel and I am still struggling with a cohesive concept. I know what I would like to shoot, however being in a conceptual art school it doesn’t seem to work and no one seems to like it. Let me know your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Conceptual vs. Commission

  1. I understand your frustration. DAAP is so focused on concept that aesthetic takes a back seat most of the time. I have struggled with this as well. I hate to say it, but sometimes we just have to conform to what our teachers are telling us. Most of them don’t understand why we have trouble doing that, but most of our peers do. I know a lot of people with the same problem. We just have to put out what they deem is ‘art’ while maintaining out artistic integrity. I know it can be frustrating, but hang in there. Shooting architect in Cincinnati is a completely valid idea, especially since you grew up here and you want to focus on the history of the city.
    I know you have a history in advertising. You work for a company that sells art. Naturally, you are going to be on the commercial side of things. There is nothing wrong with that AT ALL.
    I just want to reassure you that you CAN do this. We are almost done: done with teachers and grades and all the other junk that bogs us down. When you graduate, you will most likely be doing work for commission anyway, so why not start now? You can get the feedback from us while you still have a circle of artistic peers.

    Check out Simon Tong. He is a graduate of Stanford with a PhD in computer science. I’m not sure how or why, but he does a lot of architectural and commercial-ish photography. Here is a link to his online gallery: http://si.smugmug.com

  2. naberas says:

    It is very hard to get past this point of what YOU like to do and what DAAP likes you to do. Trust me I have been there many times specially since I am not the “typical” art student. One thing my mom told me who is a former art student is make what you want to make because for one grades do not matter, it’s not like a future employer will look at this one specific class on this one specific project and hire or not hire you based on that. Also another reason to make it for you is because at the end of the day you need to be the one who likes it, if you don’t like it and aren’t proud of it, why did you even bother making it in the first place?? We are in a field that is so cut throat, needy and brutal that sometimes you just have to listen and then be like ok I get where you are coming from but I am doing it my way. Another hard thing with DAAP is that we have to explain everything beyond the “because I like it or because I want too” statement. If you just do want you want for this project and your senior thesis your reason for doing it will eventually show up. Keep your head up, I have liked your work so far.

Leave a Reply

